Digital addiction

I’m from the new age nation,
A social network creation,
With digital addiction,
a notification,
is the cue to start conversation.
One new message received,
One new retweet
I have a Crush on Candy,
I am her winner,
I post pics of my dinner,
I am a FarmVille farmer.
I get 55 likes and 22 shares,
I think everyone cares.
I make fun of your status I am a joker,
With superior grammar,
my friend’s a transformer,
their profile pic is a car,
just like bumble bee,
Unique reminds me of me.
I complain it’s too hot,
and than hate on the cold.
I am a big shot,
I’ve been told,
so my selfies are old,
And my dreams are too bold.
I took down my profile pic,
and tomorrow I’ll repost it,
Will you like it?
I used to make phone calls,
but now I’ll inbox,
And send you jokes.
All of it original posts,
But secretly hope my quotes,
are never traced,
cause I accepted applause,
For a copy and paste.
My relationship is a status,
my profile pics are the baddest,
My imagination the wildest,
I could be anyman,
I’m Clark Kent,
“S” on my chest
I’m Superman,
with cape on my back,
I checked into KFC,
and snapped a pic,
of someone else’s dessert,
Posted it as mine,
not even one like,
My confidence is shaken,
I smoke digital narcotics,
My drugs weigh an Instagram,
this hippie’s electronic.
Hash browns wrapped in hashtags,
The hashtag man in a hashtag world.
We can only be friend’s if my request was accepted,
I’m back on the FaceBook,
Five seconds after I left it.
I’m on the network now,
I wrote you a message,
The lil green dot says you are online,
The time stamp says seen at nine, Yet you never reply any of mine,
You were always outspoken,
And I am heartbroken.
Is there is another,
you would rather,
I am devastated.
I am sophisticated,
My status is a relationship and its complicated.
My last post is feeling lonely at home,
Am I ever alone?
A stranger says hello
And another laughs aloud,
Is this cyber world a place,
more real than home space,
Phones and computers,
whispering loudly,
In capital letters,
telling secrets boldly,
to everyone only,
and to noone also,
In capital letters,
New Notification,
Friend request verification,
Online toast Cheers,
Drinking virtual beers,
with virtual friends,
at virtual events,
nothing but a username,
And a profile image,
Sending bits of bytes
Of this and that,
Pixels and data,
To other users.
Are you,
Like me,
A computer too?,
Or are you like me a spectator?,
Prove you are self aware and you matter,
Then write me a letter,
call me and lets chatter,
Before I forget to use my voice,
The new age geek,
Who forgot to speak,
And became a program
With a chip for a brain.

3 thoughts on “Digital addiction

  1. Pingback: Of weekend coffee share and thunderstorms | becoming the muse

Leave a Reply

