Of The Birds And The Bees

 

The night before I was to go off to university, my mother came into my room, while I was packing.

“Beaton” she said

She spoke in that way that could only mean you are about to talk about something serious. You start wondering if you have done anything wrong, if you did all your chores, left the toilet seat up, if she saw the empty bottle of Johnnie Walker you were drinking with your friends to celebrate going to varsity, that could be a problem, but hey you are over 18 it was for a good cause…. You quickly line up a of string apologies and explanations

“Beaton”

She used my full name, that cant be good, and the time in between, from when she said my name to when she finally starts talking, there is a silence which says a lot about the seriousness of what is coming next. My mother usually just speaks her mind but when its something serious, she will choose her words very carefully…..

“So…” pause

“ …..you are going off to Uni” silence

I am here thinking she wants to tell me to study hard, focus on my books, not forget what I am going to school for, the usual pep talk, it’s a serious topic but I can deal with it, I am really quite relieved much ado about nothing. I nod my head and wait for her to continue.

“I have something for you…..” she says and she clears her throat and opens her handbag and takes out a 100 pack box of condom.

“Do you know what these are?”

Earth swallow me now…. Take me now Dear Lord… End this. I am having The TALK with my mum.

Birds and bees

I don’t trust my voice so I just nod again.

“Good” she says, “Pack them in your bag, study hard and stay safe…”

I nod again and she gets up to leave, end of discussion.

When she is at the door she turns and says “when they are finished just call me and say mama that stuff is finished and I will make a plan, ok?

[Exit mum]

Me: “Gosh that was awkward” I packed the stuff and quickly decided come what may, I was most certainly never ever going to tell my mum that I had finished a box of 100 condoms……. This conversation never happened again, I would guess it was awkward for the both of us.

I was 18 I studied biology in school, I knew my reproductive health. But these days kids are getting exposed to sex so blatantly and parents are being forced  to decide to have The Talk at a really early age. Have you ever set down to watch something you thought was an all age movie with disturbing steamy scenes, unexpected nude scenes that have nothing to do with the plot. Even a regular TV soap suddenly gets a bedroom scene that drags longer than it has any business doing.

Don’t get me started on music videos, the dances are risqué, the costumes are skimpy and it seems like the trend is to see who can be the most provocative. I know sex sells but to what end, we are growing up with children exposed to sex as soon they are old enough to sing along to songs with blunt sexual references, and then we get surprised when we learn how shocking early children sexual debut is.

There was quite an uproar when someone suggested condoms be issued to school children about how it would encourage them, but the truth is they already engaging sexual behaviour and we really should not postpone having The Talk with your children lest they learn from somewhere with less conservative  views.

~B

PS And the internet is something else together sometimes……

Day 18 blog everyday challenge

photo credit Birds and Bees

Of The Unchanged Changing World

The unchanged changing world

Or is it the changing unchanged world.

Nothing stays the same, everything changes but its somehow weird how the more things change the more they stay the same.

change ahead road sign

Change

We fight the same wars over and over again, the battles change names, but the war is still the same. We want freedom, our rights to have rights, to liberate ourselves, we want equality, to learn from our past, to move on from our past, we want our land back, our votes to count, our elected leaders to deliver the promises they made during campaigns but most of all what we want is peace of mind……

My parents and their parents before them grew up in a world where settlers took our land and they become second class citizens in their own countries. You invite someone to your table, to share a meal and they help themselves to the biggest piece of meat, you tell them to feel at home anyway and they kick you out of your own home…..

The war of liberation came, lives were lost, blood was shed and on 18 April 1980 Rhodesia became Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe Independence Day 18 April 1980

Reconciliations were mad,e we moved from the past we faced the future. It would have been perfect had the victory been more than in name, yes we got independence but we did not get our land back nor the means of production, and twenty years down the line we still had not. The imperial government that once colonised us refused to honour its promise to help finance the land reforms.

The 2000 Elections were coming up, the ruling party was losing the support of its war veteran base and the opposition party was gaining ground and asking why almost 20 years later we still did not have control of our farms, we did not have our land. The government started a new land reform and land redistribution act, a new war dubbed “Third Chimurenga: Hondo Yeminda” (war for farms) farms belonging to white farmers were  invaded. Settler farmers were forcibly removed, it was messy business, it was something that needed doing but it could have been handled better but hey we got our land back, right? Maybe………

The ruling party government got to decide who got the farms and who didn’t and that’s mostly senior government officials and some loyal party supporters. We might have got our land back but its still in the hands of a few and some of those seem to not even know what to do with it, the blame is on droughts, climate change and lack of funding for inputs….

37 years later we have our land, we have our independence but it feels like the same battles  over and over not all citizens are equal and people’s rights get violated, a cloud of oppression hangs about and we blame sanctions, sanctions are easy to blame, sanctions are enforced by countries that seat on boards of organisations who probably don’t like us much, who grant us our independence with one hand and steal our economic freedom with the other.

  • excerpt from Confessions Of An Economic Hitman by John Perkins

Sanctions are easy to blame because Sanctions will not come and knock at your door in the middle of the night and  arrest you for inciting civil disobedience or causing unnecessary alarm and despondency.

Elections are coming up next year and if history is anything to go by the same presidential candidate has been winning, so will probably win, how can he not, lest we forget, he gave us our independence we are forever grateful how can we be anything else…..

The world changes and everything stays the same…….

~B

Day 17 Blog everyday challenge

photo credit Zimbabwe Independence :Victoria Falls Guide

Of An Apple A Day

 

An apple a day……..

People tend to neglect their health and fitness lifestyle until they get a wake-up call, standing on a scale and seeing your weight or a doctor telling you unless you change you they will be seeing more of you and its not a date…..

I am a bit of fitness freak, I have always liked to run. I wake and I run, that’s what I do.

There is a beautiful poetry in running:

a delusion of flight,

endless leaving behind and reaching towards

running even when there is nowhere to run to and nothing terrible  to run from,

running because walking is a meaningless and takes longer…..

If Life were walking,

then running is to experience our entire life span speeded up

from birth to death….,

the perfect habit.

While all this metaphor is going on your body will thank you for it, its good cardio workout and an excellent way to kick start your fitness journey, and its FREE. You will find you suddenly have the energy to even start and maintain a workout routine…..

running with weights

I don’t go to the gym but I have crazy routine that involves a doing plenty of situps, an ab wheel workout

Weight training with home-made concrete weights at the back yard that seems like we are preparing for a cross fit event. We could not afford a gym membership so built our own gym……

concrete weights home-made gym

home made gym

2014-12-17 14.54.01.jpg

What does your fitness or lack therefore of a fitness routine look like?

~B

Day 16 Blog everyday challenge