Of Heart Petals In The Wind

heart petals

rose petals drifting

Once upon a time,
I stood by the window,
I watched as the breeze,
Blew away with harsh ease,
Petals from the flowers in my china mug vase,
I watched as they floated away from me,
Just like so many of my dreams,
petals from the deep folds of my heart,
one by one all but forgotten,
I watched still,
as the last petal blew past the window sill,
Freely given

rose petal in the wind
I held out my hand out the window,
and reached into the breeze,
I closed my hand around it,
and felt it flutter in the palm of my clasped hand,
like a tiny beating heart,
fluttering like a butterfly,
The happiness it brought was enchanting,
I feared clutching it to tightly would crush it,
yet I feared that opening my palm,
would free it to be gone forever,
freely given,
I unclapsed my hand,
to reveal the gift the breeze held.
If you too would float away,
My petal in the wind……

heart petal in hand

~B

5th part of a 6th part duet, I write something and Mable rights it

She last wrote: hearts

 

Responses to “Of Heart Petals In The Wind”

  1. princejez avatar

    This I like. Nature, love, emotion. Nice touch.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Beaton avatar

      Thank you I was testing out a feeling
      Glad you like.
      ~B

      Like

  2. Siphosetu avatar

    Beautifully written. 😊💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beaton avatar

      Thank you.
      Glad you like
      ~B

      Like

  3. floatinggold avatar

    Sometimes we just have to let it fly away and see if it returns to our hand. We cannot cage it forever, or it will wilt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beaton avatar

      It’s part of being Unconditional 😍
      ~B

      Liked by 2 people

      1. floatinggold avatar
  4. pius andruda avatar

    You guyyyysssss 😩😍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Beaton avatar

      Thank you😆😀

      Like

      1. pius andruda avatar

        When do you finish so I can take it all in at once 😤??

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Beaton avatar

        Only one more to go….
        ~B

        Liked by 1 person

  5. You And Me | Growing Pains avatar

    […] This is the final part to the 6 part duet series. Beaton writes something and I attempt to right it… He previously wrote Of Heart Petals In The Wind […]

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts.. if you will?

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com